Wessel te Gussinklo Wessel te Gussinklo
© Keke Keukelaar

Wessel te Gussinklo

In 1986, Wessel te Gussinklo (b. 1941) published his debut novel, The Forbidden Garden, which was crowned with the Anton Watcher Prize. His second novel, The Assignment (1995), was awarded the Lucy B. and C.W. van Hoogt Prize, the ECI Prize and the F. Bordewijk Prize, and nominated for the Libris Literature Prize and De Gouden Uil (The Golden Owl). His novel Very Bright Light was shortlisted for the AKO Literature Prize in 2014. Te Gussinklo received the C.C.S. Crone Prize for his complete oeuvre in 2016. The Returned Flower was published in 2017. His novel The Fraud won the Zeeland Province Book Prize and the Bookspot Literature Prize 2019. En route to The Hartz, the fourth novel in the Ewout Meyster Cycle, was awarded the Boekenbon Literature Prize 2021.

Film rights Theatre rights Translation rights

The Fraud

Awarded with the BookSpot Literature Prize 2019
Shortlisted for the Libris Literature Prize 2020

Ewout Meyster is seventeen years old and thinks he understands the world and life in it, and someday he’ll show that to his naïve friends. He wants to astound them, but also the world, with his ‘performances’ on streets and squares. In conversations with his friends, he explains how to become a real personality, and what you have to do to become important and not remain ‘insignificant’. The importance of these conversations for Ewout, mirroring the ‘insignificant’ friend across from him, lies in exercising his superiority and at the same time seeing it proven. In The Fraud, Ewout imagines himself total master of the situation, just as he is subjected to the strong headwinds of his own depressions and his fears.

More information?

Please contact us, we'd be happy to hear from you.